EHF EURO History

The first Women's EHF European Championship was organised in 1994 in Germany. Back then, only 12 teams were playing for the coveted trophy.

In the years since Scandinavian teams have been dominating the tournament, with Denmark winning three times and record winners, Norway, lifting the trophy on seven occasions.

In 2012 Montenegro became the fourth nation to top the podium at a Women's EHF EURO event, while in 2014 and 2016 it was record champions Norway once more who lifted the trophy.